Lazarus Award

William C. Lazarus Memorial Award

The William C. Lazarus Memorial Award was developed by the FAS Board of Directors in 1985. It is named for the late William Lazarus (1911-1965), who was a magazine editor, glider test pilot, aeronautics instructor, Army Air Force Colonel, and civil engineer (Lazarus 1934-1935, 1942, 1951). He also made significant contributions to the literature of Florida archaeology, site preservation, and education.

Lazarus was an active FAS member in the late 1950s to mid-1960s, serving in the Northwest Florida Chapter and as an FAS officer, including FAS President in 1961. He was instrumental in helping preserve the Fort Walton Temple Mound and in establishing the Fort Walton Temple Mound Museum (Florida Department of State 1998; Lazarus 1962; Lazarus 1990). His scholarly work led to recognition of the Elliot’s Point Complex (Fairbanks 1959), various studies of aboriginal sites and artifacts in the Florida panhandle (e.g., Lazarus 1960, 1961, 1965a, 1965b), dating of historic period bricks in the Pensacola area (Lazarus 1965c), and using coins to date some Fort Walton period deposits (Lazarus 1964, 1965d).

The Lazarus Award is designed to recognize members of FAS who exemplify the spirit and accomplishments of William Lazarus through their contributions to archaeology, preservation, and/or education as well as to FAS and the wider community. Nominations for the Lazarus Award must be made in writing by an FAS member to the current FAS President by the date of December 15 prior to the FAS Annual Meeting. The nominee must be a member of FAS and must not make her or his living through the practice of archaeology. The recipient is honored with a plaque at the Annual Banquet. The criteria for qualifications and implementation of the Lazarus Award are described in the FAS Operating Procedures Manual. DOWNLOAD THE PAGE HERE

Award Recipients

2020Charlie Strader
2018Joanne Talley
2016Frank Bushnell
2015David Burns
2014Nick McAuliffe
2012Steve Martin
2010Anne Reynolds
2002Jack Thompson
2000Dot Moore
1998Elizabeth L. “Connie” Franklin
1996Lyman O. Warren
1995b Walter H. Askew
1995a John G. Beriault
1993George M. Luer
1992b Tom and Mary Lou Watson
1992a Arthur R. Lee
1990Ben Waller
1989Dan Laxson
1988Harold Cardwell
1986Yulee Lazarus